Crossed Wires

Image

The telephone cries.

I cradle it to my face,

feeling its cold pliability.

 

How strange that a twenty four year

marriage can be compressed

into a machine.

 

One thousand miles separate us,

a void stretched over and over

into words of wired speech

 

after you said you wouldn’t fly

into another time zone

to keep your career.

 

When I hang up

My children and I

work on a puzzle.

 

We try to find

the one piece to fill in the sky,

crawling along the floor searching the room.

 

Finally I find a pair of scissors,

and begin creating a facsimile

to complete the picture.

 

A lone grey cardboard cutout

looks tawdry and dull

against the other pieces.

 

I cannot stop the ringing in my ears.

puzzle2

~ by dianeklammer on May 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

