Secret Cargo

Carry me in your duffel bag

if they ship you off to Kalamazee.

I won’t bother, I won’t lag.

I’ll shrink into a pocket key

for the blue in the American flag

if this is what you want me to be.

I’ll learn to be an ace at cards

when they throw the anchor in

as it reflects in naval yards

off barges made of wood and tin.

I’ll become the best of guards

 practiced in arts of sails and sin.

You won’t have time for video games

in the maritime of Davy Jones.

Though I’ll hear unfamiliar tales and names,

you’re the one for me so throw out the phones

as we delight  in otherworldly flames,

entertain ourselves with golden tones.

I would march several times around the world

yet this cargo will be just as a feather.

You don’t need the burden of a girl

in your navy bag of cloth or leather.

So I’ll protect as a small blue pearl

in the oyster of our hours together.

 Image

~ by dianeklammer on March 16, 2013.

Leave a Reply

