Scrub Jay

 

 for Jack Collom

Image

My gray feathers look blue to you.

      Caught your attention.

Recognize you instantly

with my “optic hyperstriatum.”

Peanut, Peanut.  Now! Now! Now!

Watch me wait.   Deliver a stack

I greedily bill hoard.

Delight while I hop and weigh, fly.

I speak many languages

all of them dear J

to find the stick in the gullet fattest.

Hide my dinner under a leaf.

Worm for meat in potatoes.

Be right back Homo sapiens

while you

heavy bones weighted down

to the ground great brain

contemplate ways to feed me.

 

~ by dianeklammer on February 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

