Keys

 

 

 

Image“Every day turned cold and scary, so we came to February.”                  Dar Williams

 

Every time I search

for my lost keys

I think of you.

 

In my navy coat pocket,

at the bottom of my purse,

in a messy drawer,

 

hiding underneath the bed,

in a pile of papers on my table,

in the left pocket of my red shirt.

 

A place I would look

to retrieve something hidden

from my fuzzy memory

 

that I still need

to get through the day,

to get through life.

 

I find them eventually.

as I once found you.

One found song

 

elevated the rubble

of my ordinary life

into a sudden gift of fate.

 

Keys make their own music.

they offer the road, riches

safe refuge from cold.

 

Sometimes keys no longer fit,

but one time they were shiny,

if I am lucky enough to recall.

 

You have locked me out

of your life but I find you again

whenever I find lost keys.

 

 

~ by dianeklammer on February 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

